My Opinions and Thoughts about……facebook!

facebook, a social network that brings people and the world closer together without any movement other than your fingers and mind.  facebook, was and is an innovative breakthrough in the internet equal to IBM, Microsoft, and Apple yet still unique enough to stay ahead of all other social networks today.  I like facebook, I enjoy using it almost everyday for the reasons it was founded, to establish, maintain and exchange information, tidbits and other facts and photos amongst family and friends.  facebook is not my only social network, there is also Classmates, google+, and LinkedIn, however, I spend most of my time with facebook since most of my family (American & German) and friends use it, either PC, Mobile or both.

What do I like about facebook, well many things;  the simplicity, the instant responses, personal comments, photos, mobility, video calling, messaging, the like button (remember I’m lazy when it comes to writing), games (even though I don’t play any of the games anymore, to time-consuming) and just the feeling that through facebook I am a lot closer to my family and friends whom I have neglected over the past 40 years, thereby making me a somewhat more social person (a fault pointed out by a family member).  I also like to just read what everyone says, especially comments about their everyday life and the many experiences they have on a daily basis.  Most often I will just press the like button, since most of the time I agree with them and a comment is not necessary.  Photos have always intrigued me, and so I also enjoy them a lot since we all know that a photo says a thousand words as well as showing that special moment when the photo is taken.  Video calling puts me in the room with the other person, gives me an even closer feeling, since I talk with my hands a lot and then there are those wonderful facial expressions that add to every conversation, so if you don’t already have one, get a webcam and install video calling and then you can also try Skype, its free when you call with or without video Skype to Skype.  If you have a cell phone with internet, a so-called Smartphone, then you have mobility with facebook, which I like and use often, especially when taking photos with instant upload.  You are not restricted to a PC and your comments, photos and info are actual, as well as the responses.  Then there is messaging, where one can send text to a specific friend without the rest of your friends being able to read it, thereby maintaining a certain level on privacy, this is still necessary even amongst family and friends.  Now to mention a little something about games on facebook, they are great fun, however, can assume a lot of internet time which could cost you more than just money.  When I first got on facebook I also played many of the games, Farmville, Mafia Wars, Cityville, and many more, and really enjoyed playing.  This however led me to the point where I was spending 90% of my internet time playing games and was once again forgetting about the social aspect and neglecting my family and friends, so I have stopped playing the games, I no longer accept invites to play games, thereby devoting my internet time to socializing with family and friends as intended. Oh, I almost forgot, I like the Birthday Calendars which enable me to remember everyone’s special day and at the same time send appropriate birthday wishes.  I still forget some of the birthdays however I promise to get better.

Now you ask, what don’t I like about facebook, well there are also a few things; People registering under false names, the sharing of inappropriate sites and info, asking friends to copy, cut and paste just to see if they get a response, posting something you copied without giving credit to the originator, and using inappropriate language and photos.  As you can see, my dislikes are less than my likes, except for registering under a false name, which only facebook can fix, the rest of my dislikes pertain to how members of the social network including some of my friends, interact within the network.  I don’t like copy, cut and paste just to get a response, if you want to hear from me send a message, email or ask point-blank, than maybe I’ll respond.  If post something that isn’t originally from you, give credit to that person or at the very least let everyone know that it came from an unknown source.  And last but differently not least, the very inappropriate use of language and photos.  I don’t curse, the strongest words I use are damn, hell, and shit and I don’t see the need for the use of this inappropriate language, it is derogatory, demeaning and insulting not only to hear it, but also to have to read it, so clean up the language, we all learned in school how to speak properly.  This also goes for photos, many may be funny to some, however, they are still inappropriate especially when discussing ethnic heritage, religion, politics, etc., we must always have respect for the other without hatred while at the same time demanding respect of us from others.

facebook is a very powerful and wide used media platform and should be utilized with oversight.  The inappropriate use of such a platform as seen by various You Tube videos can and will lead to more problems around the world and once the ball starts rolling downhill it is very hard to stop, so think first before you post or share something in the internet, on facebook and/or You Tube, etc.

Once again my opinions and thoughts about……facebook!

About Timothy Francis Boles

Born and raised in Spokane, WA. Served in the US Army from 27 July 1972 to 31 May 1996, retiring as a First Sergeant. Married to Hilde for over 39 years, a son Michael (lives in Clarksville, TN with wife and 3 kids) and currently living and working in and around Bamberg, Germany since March 1996.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

