My Opinions and Thoughts about …..What has Changed!

It has been awhile since my last blog and I have a couple of reasons for the lapse of time between blogs.  First, a lot was happening following the last blog on October 23rd,  the national election, the so-called fiscal cliff, and many other problems occurring throughout the world.  I wanted to address each of these events in an individual blog, however, as I sat down at my computer and composed my thoughts and opinions, I began to realize that most of what I had to say would fall on deaf ears and that the problems in everyone’s daily lives were definitely far greater than anything I could say.  The second reason in not blogging was to put time, distance and thought between the events as they happened and my blog. Third and probably most important reason that I have not blogged, is that I have not had that good “in the gut” feeling about writing about anything.

I will however, touch on a few of the events that have occurred in the past 5 months.  First the November 6th election; this for me was a total disappointment and letdown.  Not because Obama won (I voted for Romney), but because the American people lost.  Nothing was changed, the players are still the same, the rules are the same, and the game is still being played the same as it was prior to the election. Okay, maybe something good did come out of this election; Obama is gone after the November 8th, 2016 election and the spending cuts and higher taxes that went into effect 1 March, 2013 hopefully will force the politicians to work out a debt/taxes compromise for the benefit of all Americans.

So now that I have touched on the second event, I will discuss, very lightly, the American debt.  It is no secret that the US is in debt, and will take a very long time to return to a balanced budget.  A balanced budget, for a non-profit entity (the government), is one that spends no more or no less than that which they take in (taxes, sales, etc.). I truly believe we have to reduce the expenditures and at the same reform the tax code to ensure that the loopholes for big business are closed and they are taxed appropriately like small and medium-sized companies.  It is also my belief that it is possible to make a profit and still pay their fair share in taxes. Here’s a cute fact:  The last time the federal budget was balanced, Bill Clinton was president, however, the Republicans controlled Congress, a compromise that worked.

Okay, I have something else to say about the November 6th election for those of you who were disappointed in the outcome, get over it, it’s a done deal, face the facts you lost and now get on with your life.  If you didn’t like the results, then get involved in the process and begin making changes so that future elections turnout more favorably.

The point in this blog is that not much has changed in the past five months, whether in the US or somewhere else in the world, including here in Germany and Europe.  The Euro is still in a crisis, the same since 2008.  Now Cyprus banks need a bailout, this is new, however, the story is the same, over speculation on the market.  This is the same for Greece, Ireland, Portugal, Spain and Italy.  Most are already receiving billions from a TARP-like fund, which is basically tax-payer funded, so nothing new.  The fighting is still going on in Iraq, Afghanistan and Syria, no change there either.  North Korea is threatening with Atomic attack, again.  China “elected” its’ new leadership (every ten years), don’t expect any changes here.

So what am I saying, if you are dissatisfied with the current situation then you have to make the change happen, and that begins in small-scale and at the local level.  Change for the good takes time (grassroot politics, local tax law, etc.) and generally is from bottom to top and not the other way around.  Change for the bad is very quick and sudden (wars, political tumult, major disasters, etc) and generally comes from the top.

So my bottom line in this blog is that great opportunities were missed in making changes to the current fiscal and domestic situations in the US and around the world.  The US is still the leader in the World and decisions made or not made impact not just the US but also the majority of the rest of the world.

Change must come and those are my opinions and thoughts about …… What has changed.

About Timothy Francis Boles

Born and raised in Spokane, WA. Served in the US Army from 27 July 1972 to 31 May 1996, retiring as a First Sergeant. Married to Hilde for over 39 years, a son Michael (lives in Clarksville, TN with wife and 3 kids) and currently living and working in and around Bamberg, Germany since March 1996.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Opinions and Thoughts about …..What has Changed!

  1. Colleen says:

    Just because the conservatives lost the election is no reason NOT to point out the glaring issues with the “resident” in the White House. And to continue to send a barrage of complaints/requests to our so-calld “elected” officials – frankly, I think that should be those persons having the wherewithall to purchase their seat. I have no illusion that anything is going to change until the anti-bi government movement gets it’s collective crap together and shows a united front and some real answers. There is NO reason that we cannot have a balanced budget – it will take time and all those “spenders” will have to be removed from their little perches. I will NOT submit to these thugs EVER. I love my country, I have no choice but to live here, I work here, my grandchildren are growing up here and I will forever fight for my right to live without over-reaching government interference. That said – glad to see you back!

Leave a Reply

